Header image  

B.G.E.A.H.

 
 
 

Postgrads
Below are listed current postgraduates known to be working on Early American and Atlantic history topics in the UK and Ireland. If you would like to be added or to provide amended details, please contact Richard Hall (Postgrad Rep) at R.C.HALL.166546@swansea.ac.uk

NAME

PROJECT

SUPERVISOR

INSTITUTION

Julie Atkinson

Constituting the City: A Social History of Politics and Civic Life in Eighteenth-Century New York

Julie.Atkinson@warwick.ac.uk

Prof Mark Knights

[Dr Simon Middleton]

Warwick

Matteo Binasco

Irish Catholic priests in Rome and the Atlantic world, 1622-1668

Dr Alison Forrestal

Moore Institute,
NUI, Galway

Aleithia Burgess

Anglican Missionaries and Identities in North America, 1701-1841

a.j.burgess@abdn.ac.uk

Professor Marjory Harper and Professor Andrew Blaikie
Aberdeen

Edward Collins

Portuguese Contributions to Spanish Cartography at the Casa de la Contratación, 1500 – 1530

Prof Nicholas Canny

Moore Institute,
NUI, Galway

Carmel Connelly

Economic Opportunities for English Merchants in Virginia and the West Indies, 1607 -1650

Carmel.Connolly@nuigalway.ie

Prof Nicholas Canny

Moore Institute,
NUI, Galway

Renaud Contini

Jefferson and the context and development of an ideology of westward expansion, 1760-1810

RENAUD.CONTINI@nuim.ie

Dr JoAnne Mancini

National University of Ireland, Maynooth

Tom Cutterham

The Federalist Persuasion, 1782-86

tom.cutterham@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk

Dr Peter Thompson & Dr Nicholas Cole

St Hugh's College & Rothermere American Institute, Oxford

Katie Donington

The benevolent merchant: George Hibbert and the staging of West Indian power and identity within the metropole, 1757-1837.

katie.donington.09@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Catherine Hall

UCL

Felicity Donohoe

Native North American Women and Relations with European Men in the Eighteenth Century: a Comparative Study between Southeastern and Northeastern Peoples

f.donohoe.1@research.gla.ac.uk

Prof Simon Newman

Glasgow

Moira Gillis

The evolution of Anglo-American corporate theory in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries

moira.gillis@law.ox.ac.uk

 
Oxford

Tom Girn

The constitution, ratification and the shaping of an American foreign policy during the founding period.

tom.girn@apbenson.com

Dr Simon Rofe

SOAS

Richard Hall Edward Braddock, Lord Loudoun and the British war effort in North America, 1757-1757
Dr Steve Sarson
Swansea

Christopher Minty

Popular Loyalism and Counterrevolution in the British Atlantic World, c. 1776-1800

Dr Colin Nicolson

Stirling

Angel Luke O'Donnell

Tangible Imaginations: Construction of American Identity in Philadelphia, 1764 – 1776

A.Odonnell1@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Keith Mason

Liverpool

David Parrish Jacobitism and the Atlantic World Prof. Murray Pittock, Dr. Karin Bowie, & Prof. Colin Kidd
Glasgow

Naomi Pullin

Women in the Transatlantic Quaker Community, c.1650-c.1750

n.r.wood@warwick.ac.uk

Prof. Mark Knights & Prof. Bernard Capp

Warwick

Angel Smith

History of the British Virgin Islands

Prof David Richardson and
Dr Douglas Hamilton

Hull

Alison Stanley

Language and Identity in the writings of the New England Puritans of the 17th Century

alison.stanley@kcl.ac.uk

Prof. Susan Castillo

King's College, London

John C. Stewart

The Gun Trade in Early America

j.c.stewart@dundee.ac.uk

Dr. Matthew Ward

Dundee

Erik Towne

British Army in North America during Seven Years’ War:

etowne@bgnet.bgsu.edu

Prof Peter Way
(University of Windsor)

Bowling Green State University

Esther Williams

Puritans and Slavery in Colonial Massachusetts

e.williams.292956@swansea.ac.uk

Dr Steve Sarson

Swansea

Mary Wills

Anti-slavery and the Royal Navy's suppression of the slave trade in the Atlantic Ocean, 1810-1870

marycwills@live.co.uk

Professor David Richardson and Dr Douglas Hamilton

WISE, University of Hull